Four Hounds Earn All-Conference Honors

Four Hounds Earn All-Conference Honors

WORCESTER, Mass. – After playing to a 16-3 record so far this season, the field hockey team had four players earn Northeast-10 All-Conference Honors as announced by the conference earlier today. Junior Deirdre Burchill (Braintree, Mass./Braintree) was named to the All-Conference First Team while sophomore Lucy Malia (Scarborough, Maine/Scarborough), senior Courtney Sickel (Atkinson, N.H./Timberlane Regional) and sophomore Summer Walsh (South Yarmouth, Mass./Dennis-Yarmouth Regional) earned All-Conference Second Team.

Burchill leads the team in points with 35 on 15 goals and five assists this season. She now leads the conference in goals and is second in the conference in points. Burchill has recorded five game-winning goals, the most recent being the game-winner against Stonehill to get the Hounds to the NE10 Semifinals, for the third straight year. Burchill was named Second Team All-Conference last year

Malia has started all 19 games for the Hounds this season and has been a dominating presence on the field. She has earned two goals and four assists for a total of eight points. Malia is also 2-for-2 on penalty strokes this season, which is fourth in the conference. Malia was Third Team All-Conference last year and was named to the All-Rookie team.

Sickel has been an instrumental part of Assumption's offense this year, recording two game-winning goal in a total of eight goals. Sickel is third on the team in points with 20 on her eight goals and four assists while starting in every game this season. She currently leads the conference in shots with 98.

Walsh has 22 points on a total of 10 goals and two assists in her sophomore season. Walsh is 1-for-1 in penalty strokes with four game-winning goals, one of which was the lone goal in Assumption's 1-0 upset victory over No. 4 Saint Anselm earlier in the year.

Southern N.H.'s Laura van der Doorn earned NE10 Player of the Year, while the Penmen's Lisa Hagel was selected NE10 Rookie of the Year. Saint Anselm swept the rest with Anna Drakeley earning NE10 Defensive Player of the Year, Julia Hand earning NE10 Goalkeeper of the Year and their head coach, Carolyn King-Robitaille earning NE10 Coach of the Year.

The Hounds travel to No. 1 Saint Anselm on Friday, November 8, for a 4 p.m. start in a NE10 Semifinals matchup.

For the latest on Assumption College Athletics, follow the Hounds via social media on TwitterFacebookInstagram and YouTube.