A Look Back at the 2019 Houndies

awards group photo

 awards group photo

Houndies Photo Gallery
Rewatch 2019 Houndies

WORCESTER, Mass. – The Assumption College Department of Athletics recently held its fourth annual "Houndies" Student-Athlete Awards Night, honoring the top student-athletes and accomplishments from the 2018-19 athletic season on Monday, April 29. Senior football student-athlete Stephon Hill and Emma Mailman a junior on the women's soccer team served as hosts for the evening. Below is the complete list of awards and winners from the evening.

Andrew Laska "Athlete of the Year" Award: Awarded to the most dominant male and female athletes during the past academic year
Abbey Holmes – Swimming & Diving:
 Holmes was selected as the NE10 MVP of the NE10 Swimming & Diving Championships after leading her team to the NE10 Title. She won all three of her individual events during the weekend, as well as a pair of victories in relays and two more relay runner-up finishes.
Kevin Hack – Men's Track & Field: Hack helped led the men's track & field program to its best ever finishes at both the NE10 Indoor & Outdoor Championships this year, taking fifth and fourth. During the outdoor season he broke a 45-year old record in the high jump with his height of 2.01 meters and also broke the previous record in the decathlon by over 300 points.  

Steve "Merc" Morris '72 Memorial Awards: Awarded to the top four-year senior student-athletes at Assumption
Abby Jones – Women's Track & Field:
Jones is a four-year standout and fourt-time USTFCCCA All-American. She earned First-Team All-America honors by taking sixth at the 2019 Outdoor National Championships, while also earning Second-Team honors during her career in the long jump, heptathlon and pentathlon. She owns 12 school records, along with earning NE10 Rookie of the Year as freshman and during the first weekend of May captured her third straight NE10 Title in the heptathlon while helping the program to its first-ever runner-up finish.
Deonte Harris – Football: Harris is a two-time All-American and seven-time all-conference honoree. He was named the NE10 Rookie of the Year as a freshman and then junior year earned NE10 MVP honors in leading his team to the NE10 Quarterfinals. He also owns or has tied five NCAA records, including most career return touchdowns with 14. Harris recently signed as an undrafted free agent with the New Orleans Saints.

Breakthrough Athlete of the Year Awards: Awarded to a student-athlete who has come out of obscurity during the current academic year to make a significant impact on his or her athletic team
Olivia Angelo – Women's Lacrosse:
Angelo had just one goal as a freshman, but finished this season fourth on the team with 45 points. Her 30 goals were third on the team and she dished off 15 assists with 23 ground balls and 13 caused turnovers.
Owen Peterson III – Men's Lacrosse: Had just three goals in 18 games over his first two seasons before breaking out to rank third on the team in scoring. His 28 goals were tied for second on the team and he also dished off nine assists and was third on the team with 31 ground balls.

Rev. Alfred Berthiaume, A.A.`32 Memorial Awards: Awarded for going "above and beyond" during their Assumption careers
Victoria Petrie – Softball: Petrie served as one of the team's captains this season and played in 37 games, batting .245 with 26 hits and 20 RBI. Also helped lead the program to its highest win total since 2012.
Peter McDonagh – Ice Hockey: McDonagh served as one of the team's captains this year and part of the winningest class over the last 25 years of the program. On the ice he played in 27 games while registering nine points on three goals and six assists.

Rev. Armand Desautels, A.A. '30 Memorial Awards: Awarded to the most success student-athletes, who excelled in the classroom and in their respective sport
Abby Jones – Women's Track & Field: A four-time USTFCCCA All-American and 17-time All-Region selection, Jones is the most decorated women's field athlete in program history. She also is a two-time NE10 Academic All-Conference selection who owns a GPA over 3.6.
Travis Reid – Men's Lacrosse: Reid concluded his career as the program's all-time leading scorer with 214 career points. He also left Assumption first all-time in assists with 84 and second all-time in goals with 130. Reid has been named to NE10 Academic Honor Roll multiple times and owns a GPA over 3.3.

Jim Mullen '78 Spirit Award: Awarded to a staff member or student who embodies the spirit of Assumption College athletics
Sarah Reilly – Women's Lacrosse:
Reilly has been a fixture at various athletics events throughout her career, always taking time out to support other student-athletes. She also served as president of SAAC during the past year and helped start a mentoring program for student-athletes. On the field, she was a NE10 First-Team All-Conference selection who set career records for points (273) and assists (82), while ranking second all-time in goals with 191.

Rev. Joseph Pelletier, A.A. `32 Memorial Award: Awarded to someone outside the athletic department for their outstanding service to the athletic department
Adam Volungis – Assistant Professor of Psychology: Volungis gives his time to coaches and student-athletes in the athletic department to help them perform at a higher level. For no cost he has held sessions for teams to go over various topics to help them improve as students and athletes.

Francis J. Grimaldi `70 Memorial Award: Awarded to a student-athlete who has demonstrated uncommon courage and spirit along with strong character in the face of adversity
Lexi Finn – Women's Lacrosse: Finn suffered a seizure during her sophomore year on the field prior to a women's lacrosse game and since has had numerous more while doctors try to pinpoint the exact cause. She missed nearly all of her junior season, but this year has been able to play in 14 contests and start five games despite her condition.

Moment of the Year Award: The top moment of the year as voted on by students and fans
Women's Swimming & Diving Wins NE10 Championship:
The team captured the program's fourth NE10 Title with dominant performances on the final two days of competition after trailing going into Saturday's evening session.



2019 Houndies Awards Night